Wednesday, September 5, 2012

I Experience Books Like Guy Fieri Experiences Food


On Monday I told you I’d be bringing the meat and potatoes today. Well, I’m bringing it.
My husband and I enjoy watching Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. The host, Guy Fieri, engages with restaurant owners with entertaining humorous flare and a keen understanding of all things grease related. Normally, I stick to healthy foods, but I have to admit this show brings out the bar food lover in me.

I love the exchange between restaurant owner and Guy. I love the process of the food being prepared. I love how the show leaves me wanting more.
And I got to thinking (lookout!) I read books like this.

On this I 8 Wednesday I’m cutting through the fat and giving you the skinny about how I experience books like Guy experiences food…
Rich Appreciation & Respect

Guy enters every dive with respect for the owner. He samples every platter knowing the chef poured love into their work. He offers a kind word and a fist bump whenever the food merits it.
So it is with the books I read. As an author I know what it takes to complete a novel. I’m not quick to bash, but instead to offer a kind word whenever the craft merits.

Personality
Tattooed, with his spiky hair the color of a sandstorm, Guy assesses each diner, infiltrating them with his own experiences. And he’s checking out the joints that have been highly recommended and have received rave reviews.

With every book I read I infuse my preferences and tastes. Something about me that might surprise you: I hardly ever give two-star (or one-star) ratings on Goodreads. Why? Because I don’t bother to keep reading. I put the book down if it’s not three stars or higher.
Plowing Through

If you’ve ever watched the show you know Guy consumes quickly. It doesn’t take him a year to tour one dive.
I happen to read a lot. I plow through books with the same enthusiasm Guy exudes when he chomps down on a meaty sub.

Says What He Means, Means What He Says
My husband and I have fun trying to discern whether or not Guy’s really digging a sandwich. We study his expressions. But most of all we tune in to what he says. The more we watch the show, the more we’re able to figure out when Guy has hit the mother lode of diner food and when he’s meh, not all that impressed.

I review books in the same way. Like Guy, I can always find something positive to say, but there are ways to tell when I’m really into a book and when I’m meh, not all that impressed.
Expertise
Guy is a chef. He visits every restaurant with his culinary expertise.

I’m a writer. I read every book with my knowledge of the craft.
Raves When He’s Blown Away

It’s unmistakable when Guy’s taste buds have been blessed. He’s giving fist bumps. He’s making up catchy phrases, licking his fingers, and jumping into the pot stewing with spices. He’s consuming the whole meal.
Ditto for me with books. When I’m satisfied, I’m talking about the book. I’m tweeting it. I’m lending it to friends. And I’m buying every book the author has ever written.

Uses Foodie Lingo
Guy’s got the foodie speak down and he uses it as appropriate with the restaurant owners and chefs.

I’m nailing pub talk. As appropriate I’ll throw out a little WIP, query, POV, story arc, and platform speak just for kicks.
Open to Learning

Guy lets every chef show off. Throw food around. Drop in spices he’s never heard of. And he absorbs. Last night I even heard him say he needed to steal a recipe.
While I’m no thief, I am constantly learning from the books I read.

So me and Guy, we’ve got a few things in common. You know, beside the tats and the porcupine hair. ;-)
Ever seen this irresistible show? Do you experience books like Guy experiences food? How?

*photo by stock.XCHNG
**is the font up there too small to read?

22 comments:

  1. Love Diners, Drive-ins and Dives! One thing I love about the show is that he goes places I may never go, but I'm able to experience what he's experiencing through him. The same can be true for a book! Books take me to places and events I may never see (especially historical) - and that's one of the reasons I love them so much. Great analogy - but now I'm hungry for a greasy cheeseburger and it's only 8 a.m.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, I gotcha. I do feel like I've "been there, eaten that" after watching the show. Or the very least I wish I'd eaten that. I have my greasy hamburger moods. I won't tell you craved one at 8! :D

      Delete
  2. I have watched this show. He was just at Memphis BBQ which is literally down the road from me!

    The only thing I don't do, is I don't always read with expertise. Sometimes, I like to simply read for reading sake and if I start bringing all my knowledge of the craft in (as if I have vats of it lol), I don't stay lost in the story. But books I don't like very much--I find myself picking apart.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think it's a subconscious thing reading like that. I don't intend to, but I'll be breezing through something and think, Hey, that would go much better later or the author really should have left that character out altogether. Crazy stuff like that.

      Delete
  3. Nope. Font size is perfectly readable. I've never watched that show. I have a feeling it would make me too hungry.

    I do love devouring a book though. I especially love when a book MAKES me devour it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm with you, a book needs to work for it.

      And you'd love it, Katie. The show is addictive.

      Delete
  4. I've never watched that show, but then again, I don't have cable...hehe.

    I just love how creative you are, Wendy. Your play-on words always amazes me.

    Oh, and I guess I've got pub speak down too, because I knew what all of that meant. ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep, I'd say you have it down. You inspire me, Lindsay. Truly you do.

      Delete
  5. I've never watched that show, but now my stomach is growling just thinking about it! :)

    I do read books hungrily, though. This weekend I had an extended break and read 3.5 books. Ahhh, satisfaction. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Dude, you read a lot faster than I do! 3+ books in one weekend. I AM impressed!

      And I crave a good book like I crave food sometimes. The goods. That's what I want.

      Delete
  6. I don't watch the show on a regular basis, but I love it when I catch it. I loved how you equated it to books, especially about giving each book a chance.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I give it some time before I decide to stop reading a book and I'm glad I do that because some have surprised me right around page 50.

      Delete
  7. We don't have cable, so I've never seen this show. It sounds interesting, though.

    I love your clever take on savoring books like Guy does food. You never cease to amaze me, Wendy.

    (It pains me to admit this because it makes me sound old when I'm really quite young-at-heart, but since I've reached the age of reading glasses and permanent squint lines around my eyes, I do find the small font size a bit of a challenge.)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'll adjust the font, Keli. Your comment is helpful. I had a little trouble myself and I have stellar vision.

      If you're at all a foodie wannabe like I am, then you'd like it.

      Delete
  8. I think I've seen that show a couple times. I love the comparisons. (And yes, I want to see you with porcupine hair, lol.)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm thinking retreat time, first thing in the morning...closest thing to it. ;-)

      Delete
  9. I love Food network! Guy's show always makes my mouth water. Anything deep fried and greasy usually does! Fun post!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. And we love his sense of humor. Crack up most of the show. That's what I loved about the Dirty Jobs guy, too.

      Delete
  10. Great and fun post! What a great idea to relate writing to food. I've watched Guy's show -- it makes my mouth water and then I gotta get something to eat because the food on his show look tasty.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I'm ususally grabbing a (heavy) snack right around the time we sit down to watch. It's exciting to watch how creative people get with food.

      Delete
  11. I've not seen that show, but it sounds like fun! I think cooking is an art.

    You are so clever with your analogies, Wendy!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I've seen this show a couple of times, but am addicted to the Food Network. I've been wanting to check out his new cookbook. Great post.

    ReplyDelete

A Book Is Born—THE AFTER GLIMPSE

At book clubs I’m often asked where my ideas come from. The concept for THE AFTER GLIMPSE (available now) was first sparked in an ice c...